Auschwitz Lullaby

Okay, wow, guys–this book hit me hard.  I know book reviews aren’t the favorite thing I post, but I’m so passionate about reading that I just can’t not post them, and this book in particular really impacted me lately.

 

Auschwitz Lullaby by Mario Escobar

Fans of The Book ThiefThe Zookeeper’s Wife, Nightand The Girl from the Train will love this book! It is translated from Spanish but the translator did such a wonderful job; it was poetic and there weren’t any parts that felt stilted or just not “quite right”.

Escobar weaves together a fictional account of the hauntingly true story of Helene Hannemann, a German woman who follows her gypsy husband and children to Auschwitz rather than embracing the freedom she as a German is offered.  While there, she makes every effort to improve conditions of other inhabitants, even starting a kindergarten for the children and looking after the youngest people in the camp.  Her story is inspiring and thought-provoking, as I myself questioned what I would do in many of the situations she found herself in.  It is definitely a story I’d reserve for older audiences due to the horrors of the setting, but wow–it’s not one I’ll soon forget.  I highly recommend it to those who have the stomach for WWII and Holocaust literature.

Thank you so much to the Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Fiction Guild for providing me a copy of this book.  You all really do well putting out fantastic literature and I appreciate it!

The links in this post are affiliate links to Amazon, which means that if you click through to purchase the book, I’ll get a small commission, but it won’t increase your price any.

I received a copy of this book for free. I was not required to post a positive review and the views and opinions expressed are my own.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

xo,

love first, love well, love anyway-4

Like the content you see and want to support me? The best ways to do so are to share my blog with your friends and to Buy me a coffee.  Thanks for your support!

Advertisements

Author: Callie Susanna

I'm a blogger and aspiring author who publishes my thoughts on the life I'm living, literature I'm reading, and God I'm serving.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s