Where Hope Prevails

Where Hope Prevails is the third book in the “Return to the Canadian West” trilogy by Janette Oke with her daughter, Laurel Oke Logan.  This series is a companion series to Hallmark channel’s “When Calls the Heart” show, which I have become a fan of over this past year.  To see this advertised on the back cover of the book as being a companion caught my interest, but I found it very hard to follow.  I’ve seen the first and second seasons of “When Calls the Heart” and the first two episodes of season three, and this is the first book that I’ve read from this trilogy–or by this author, period, although I’ve enjoyed dozens of screen adaptations of her works.  At first, the book seemed to be picking up right with the beginning of the third season.  However, as I continued reading, I came across at least five characters whom I did not recognize, and found that the plot differed slightly, as well as having “missing” characters from the TV show.  This made it really confusing for me, being familiar with the show, so if you are a faithful “Heartie”, I would not recommend starting off with this book.  Perhaps if you read the whole trilogy instead of just the last book. 🙂 Which brings up another good thing to mention: This book does not stand alone.  You have to be very familiar with the storyline and characters, and even then it may not make sense.

For those of you unfamiliar with the “When Calls the Heart” phenomenon, I’ll try and sum up the series here for you–but I would not recommend starting with this book, just working your way up to it.  Elizabeth Thatcher is from a rich family in Eastern Canada, and she decides to move out west and become a school teacher in a little town called Coal Valley (later renamed Hope Valley).  It is there that she meets the Mountie Jack (Or Jarrick, as he’s called in this book by Elizabeth–who’s called Beth in the book) Thornton, who she eventually falls in love with, and in the beginning of this book, becomes engaged to.  Throughout this book Elizabeth continues to face trials in Hope Valley, with her family, and with a new schoolteacher who becomes her competition.

This would still probably be a good read if you have read the first two books in the series and haven’t seen the Hallmark show, but I would not recommend mixing the two mediums.  It makes for one muddled story.

Thank you so much to Bethany House publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Posted by

I'm a writer who publishes my thoughts on the life I'm living, literature I'm reading, and God I'm serving. Psalm 27:4 One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s